Home » Equipe

GDD - Distributed Data Management

Addressed challenges related to writing distributed programs, data management, security and privacy issues

Team leader : Pascal MOLLI  
Deputy Head : Achour MOSTEFAOUI  
Area(s) of expertise :
SDD
SLS

Distributed infrastructures are at the heart of the digital revolution. These infrastructures are evolving and becoming more complex with new developments around edge computing, fog computing, federations and the Internet of Things.
Each evolution brings new challenges in writing distributed programs, data management, security and privacy issues.

GDD aims to propose models and principles for writing federated programs on federated infrastructuresA federation interconnects a large number of autonomous, heterogeneous and socially organized participants. These participants agree on a minimum set of services giving access to their resources, i.e. cloud federations with a common programming interface, data web federation with SPARQL servers or social networks distributed with publish-subscribe middleware.
Federations offer an execution environment on which a federated program accesses federated resources i.e. CPU, data, disk. A federated program can be seen as a federated request on the linked data, a datalog program distributed on a data federation or a program using a federated programming interface in a cloud federation. Federations are defined and studied by several scientific communities for different motivations using different approaches. They are studied in databases with federated databases or collaborative data sharing systemss. They are studied in "cloud computing" with cloud federations or virtual organizations. In the context of the semantic web, they appear with the open federation of the linked data. In distributed systems and distributed collaborative systems, they are represented by distributed social networks, in networks, with distributed CDNs or identity federations, in ubiquitous computing, with federations managers.

The motivations of federated systems are different in different communities :

  • In the cloud community, federations can be economically efficient, reduce energy consumption and reduce latency by using geo-replication of data.
  • Distributed social networks promote federations as an infrastructure that is better able to preserve privacy.
  • From a database and web data perspective, federations allow large-scale data integration.


Many approaches, architectures, algorithms have been proposed by the different scientific communities to build federations: language approaches such as Bud or WebdamLog, approaches to standardize programmaming interface for the cloud, approaches based on federated requests, on epidemic propagation systems or distributes data structures.
Whatever the approach considered, federations must face recurring scientific obstacles: ease of programming and impossibility results from the CAP theorem, ease of access to data and semantic heterogeneity of data, autonomy of participants and access to secondary data.

The scientific project considers the federations as the subject of the study. We have identified 3 scientific challenges to be able to write and deploy federated programs on federated infrastructures (see Figure):

  • Challenge 1: Data structures and coherence for federations. Each infrastructure requires its own distributed data structures and consistency criteria, i.e. P2P networks have brought DHT, the cloud has put forward consistency in the long term. The aim is to develop data structures and coherence models adapted to federations.
  • Challenge 2: Collaborative data sharing systems in federations. Federated programs must be able to update and query data distributed across the federation in an efficient manner. This challenge will build on the results achieved by Challenge 1.
  • Challenge 3: Confidentiality and security in federations. The challenge is to be able to detect attacks on a federation of autonomous participants and to allow participants to monitor the actual use of the data made available.

 

Team topics

Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

GDD - Gestion de Données Distribuées

Relevé les défis sur l’écriture des programmes distribués, sur la gestion des données et les problèmes de sécurité et de confidentialité

Responsable : Pascal Molli
Responsable adjoint : A. Mostéfaoui
Pôle(s) de recherche :
SDD
SLS

Les infrastructures réparties sont au cœur de la révolution numérique. Ces infrastructures évoluent et se complexifient avec des nouveaux développements autour du « edge computing », du « fog computing », des fédérations, de l’Internet des objets.
Chaque évolution apporte de nouveaux défis sur l’écriture des programmes distribués, sur la gestion des données et les problèmes de sécurité et de confidentialité.

GDD a pour objectif de proposer des modèles et des principes pour écrire des programmes fédérés sur des infrastructures fédérées.

Une fédération interconnecte un grand nombre de participants autonomes, hétérogènes et socialement organisés. Ces participants sont d’accord sur un ensemble minimal de services donnant accès à leurs ressources i.e. les fédérations de cloud avec une interface de programmation commune, la fédération du web des données avec les serveurs SPARQL ou les réseaux sociaux distribués avec les intergiciels publish-subscribe.
Les fédérations offrent un environnement d’exécution sur lequel une programme fédéré accède aux ressources fédérées i.e. CPU, données, disque. Un programme fédéré peut être vu comme une requête fédérée sur le linked data, une programme datalog distribué sur une fédération de données ou un programme utilisant une interface de programmation fédérée dans une fédération de cloud. Les fédérations sont définies et étudiées par plusieurs communautés scientifiques pour des motivations différentes en suivant des approches différentes. Elles sont étudiées en base de données avec les bases de données fédérées ou les systèmes collaboratifs de partage de données. Elles sont étudiées en « cloud computing » avec les fédérations de cloud ou les organisations virtuelles. Dans le cadre du web sémantique, elles apparaissent avec la fédération ouverte du linked data. En système distribués et systèmes collaboratifs distribués, elles sont représentées par les réseaux sociaux distribués, en réseaux, avec les CDN distribués ou les fédérations d’identité, en informatique ubiquitaire, avec les gestionnaires de fédérations.

Les motivations des systèmes fédérés sont différentes selon les communautés :

  • Dans la communauté du cloud, les fédérations peuvent être économiquement efficace, réduire la consommation énergétique et diminuer les latences en utilisant la géo-réplication des données.
  • Les réseaux sociaux distribués mettent en avant les fédérations comme une infrastructure plus à même de préserver la vie privée.
  • D’un point de vue base de données et web des données, les fédérations permettent l’intégration de données à large échelle.

De nombreuses approches, architectures, algorithmes ont été proposées par les différentes communautés scientifiques pour construire des fédérations : des approches par les langages comme Bud ou WebdamLog, des approches de standardisation des interfaces de programmation pour le cloud, des approches basées sur des requêtes fédérées, sur les systèmes de propagation épidémique ou sur des structures de données distribuées.
Quelle que soit l’approche considérée, les fédérations doivent faire face à des verrous scientifiques récurrents : facilité de programmation et résultat d’impossibilité venant du théorème CAP, facilité d’accès aux données et hétérogénéité sémantique des données, autonomie des participants et accès aux données secondaires.

Le projet scientifique considère les fédérations comme objet de l’étude. Nous avons identifié 3 défis scientifiques pour être à même d’écrire et déployer des programmes fédérés sur des infrastructures fédérées (cf. Figure ) :

  • Défi 1 : Structures de données et cohérence pour les fédérations. Chaque infrastructure requiert ses propres structures de données distribuées et ses critères de cohérences i.e. les réseaux P2P ont amené les DHT, le cloud a remis en avant la cohérence à terme. Il s’agit de développer des structures de données et des modèles de cohérence adaptés aux fédérations.
  • Défi 2 : Systèmes collaboratifs de partage de données dans les fédérations. Les programmes fédérés doivent pouvoir mettre à jour et interroger des données réparties dans la fédération de manière efficace. Ce défi s’appuiera sur les résultats obtenus par le défi 1.
  • Défi 3 : Confidentialité et sécurité dans les fédérations. Le défi est de pouvoir détecter des attaques sur une fédération de participants autonomes et de permettre aux participants de surveiller l’usage réel des données mises à disposition.