Home » Background

the   ground   which   have   led   toward   the   merging   of   IRCCyN   and   LINA...

  • Cybernetic-Computer synergy at the heart of digital technology: taking advantage of interdisciplinary research activities at the interfaces with mechanics, digital creation and modelling of living organisms, it is expected that fusion will bring real synergy and dynamics to the renewal of teams. The objective is to boost the Nantes forces, which have come together to provide a framework for large-scale scientific reflection. The environment of each laboratory is rich (the Jules Verne and b<>com IRTs, the CominLabs labex, the Robotex teamx to mention only the objects of the future investment program).
  • The critical mass effect: our research environment is structured in coarse grain within the University of Brittany-Loire (UBL). In this environment, the future laboratory must become a must, alongside its large neighbours (IRISA, Lab-STICC and IETR).
  • A model of RMU uniting the research forces: the situation in Nantes was particular with the activity of the IRCCyN and the LINA shared by several institutions (including two schools: IMT-Atlantique and Centrale de Nantes) and which is developing on several large (from 20 to 68 permanent) and distributed geographical sites (the most distant sites are about ten kilometres from each other). The question of the visibility of the establishments and the management of the teams within the whole deserved to be worked on and improved by proposing a governance and management model adapted to multi-site and multi-tutelles.
  • Seize the opportunity offered by the calendar: the idea of bringing together Nantes forces in the fields of cybernetics and information technology is old, but has always been rejected for reasons of complexity. The development of the new five-year contract 2017-2021 was an opportunity not to be missed to bring our community together in a sustainable way and project its development to the highest possible level.
Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal mentions - 
 -

Les  arguments  ayant  conduit  a  la  fusion  de l'IRCCyN  et  du  LINA...

  • La synergie Cybernétique-Informatique au cœur du numérique : profitant notamment des activités de recherche interdisciplinaires aux interfaces avec la mécanique, la création numérique et la modélisation du vivant, il est attendu de la fusion une vraie synergie et une dynamique dans le renouvellement des équipes. L’objectif est de dynamiser les forces nantaises, rassemblées pour offrir un cadre propice à une réflexion scientifique de grande envergure. L’environnement de chaque laboratoire est riche (les IRT Jules Verne et bcom, le labex CominLabs, l’équipex Robotex pour ne citer que les objets du programme des investissements d’avenir).
  • L’effet de masse critique : notre environnement de recherche se structure à gros grain au sein de l’Université Bretagne-Loire (UBL). Dans cet environnement, le futur laboratoire doit devenir incontournable, à côté de ses voisins de grande taille (IRISA, Lab-STICC et IETR).
  • Un modèle d’UMR fédérateur des forces de recherche : la situation nantaise était particulière avec l’activité de l’IRCCyN et du LINA partagée par plusieurs établissements (dont deux écoles : l’école des Mines de Nantes et l’école Centrale de Nantes) et qui se développe sur plusieurs sites géographiques de bonne taille (de 20 à 68 permanents) et répartis (les sites les plus éloignés sont à une dizaine de kilomètres l’un de l’autre). La question de la visibilité des établissements et de la gestion des équipes au sein de l’ensemble méritait d’être travaillée et améliorée en proposant un modèle de gouvernance et de gestion adapté au multi-sites et multi-tutelles.
  • Saisir l’opportunité offerte par le calendrier : l’idée du rassemblement des forces nantaises dans les domaines de la cybernétique et de l’informatique est ancienne, mais a toujours été repoussée pour des raisons de complexité. L’élaboration du nouveau contrat quinquennal 2017-2021 était l’opportunité à ne pas rater pour rassembler durablement notre communauté et projeter son développement au meilleur niveau possible