Home » Organisation

Organisation

Tutelages

The LS2N depends on 4 tutelages : the CNRS (more precisely through its main link with the “Institut des Sciences de l’Information et de leurs Interactions” (INS2I), as well as with the Institut des Sciences de l’Ingénierie et des Systèmes (INSIS) and the “Institut des Sciences Biologiques” (INSB) ; reflecting an interdisciplinary activity), and the site’s supervisory bodies, which are the University of Nantes, Centrale Nantes, and IMT-Atlantique, institution of the COMUE Université Bretagne-Loire (UBL). Inria is a partner of the LS2N through several joined teams projects.

Staff

The LS2N, in January 2017, includes the activities of approximately 430 people with 205 permanent staff: 19 researchers (16 CNRS, 3 INRIA), 158 teacher-researchers (including 103 from the University of Nantes (UN), 29 from the IMT Atlantic (IMT-A), 27 from Centrale Nantes, and 28 engineers, technicians and administrators (12 CNRS, 6 ECN, 4 IMT-A, 5 UN, 1 INRA). It also hosts about 170 doctoral students and 60 engineers or contractual post-doctoral fellows.

Multi-site locations

The laboratory is located on 5 sites in Nantes metropolitan area:
– Centrale Nantes (CN) campus (70 permanent staff),
– The campus of the Faculty of Sciences (FST) (53 permanent),
– The ITM Atlantique Campus (ITM-A) (38 permanent staff),
– The Polytechnic School (Polytech) campus (30 permanent staff),
– The campus of the University Institute of Technology (IUT) (14 permanent staff).

Expertise areas

A laboratory of more than 200 researchers and teacher-researchers, with teams of reasonable size and an average of less than 10 permanent members, contains more than 20 teams.
A clustering by major scientific fields becomes necessary to:
– display in a structured way the activity and skills (or “colors”) of the laboratory,
– facilitate interactions and cooperations between teams with related scientific objects,
– coordinate the platforms (hardware and software) associated with the theme,
– facilitate scientific animations and foresight,
– bring together teaching teams in charge of master’s courses,
– organize its evaluation.

Cross-cutting themes

The challenges of socio-economic development both in France and in our territory, within the framework of reflections led by local authorities or different bodies, have led to the emergence of a forward-looking plan for the socio-economic development of regional territories. This scheme has made it possible to create specific fields or thematic specializations associated with existing or potential scientific, industrial and/or economic know-how. This “intelligent specialization” aims to maintain and develop a fertile ground for the emergence of major collective projects. In the Loire region, six main themes have been selected, namely: Maritime industries and new energies, Advanced production technologies, Food and bio-resources, Tomorrow’s therapies and health, Computer science and professional electronics, Design and cultural and creative industries.

The transversal themes of the laboratory are the result of the scientific reflections of the members of the laboratory based on their current work, the international exchanges already engaged, the analyses of various and varied prospective studies…, but also the feelings and/or desires of each other. And finally, the five transversal themes proposed by the laboratory are perfectly in line with the regional, national and European strategy for the coming decades. These transversal themes make it possible to cultivate interdisciplinarity and to contribute to certain societal challenges.

Beyond the projects of excellence that are conducted, it is particularly at the intersection of the poles and transversal themes that the laboratory’s strengths and originality are displayed.

Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal mentions - 
 -

Tutelles

Le LS2N dépend de 4 tutelles : le CNRS (plus précisément à travers son rattachement principal à l’Institut des Sciences de l’Information et de leurs Interactions (INS2I), ainsi qu’à l’Institut des Sciences de l’Ingénierie et des Systèmes (INSIS) et l’Institut des Sciences Biologiques (INSB), témoignant d’une activité interdisciplinaire), et les tutelles du site, qui sont l’Université de Nantes, l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes, et l’Institut Mines Telecom Atlantique, établissements membres de la COMUE Université Bretagne-Loire (UBL). Inria est partenaire du LS2N à travers plusieurs équipes-projet communes.

Effectifs

Le LS2N en janvier 2017 comprend l’activité d’environ 430 personnes avec 205 permanents : 19 chercheurs (16 CNRS, 3 Inria), 158 enseignants-chercheurs (dont 103 de l’Université de Nantes (UN), 29 de l’IMT Atlantique (IMT-A), 27 de l’Ecole Centrale de Nantes (ECN)) et 28 Ingénieurs, Techniciens et Administratifs (12 CNRS, 6 ECN, 4 IMT-A, 5 UN, 1 Inria). Il accueille aussi environ 170 doctorants et 60 ingénieurs ou post-doctorants contractuels.

Implantation   multi-sites

Le laboratoire est présent sur 5 sites de la métropole nantaise :
• Le campus de l’école centrale (ECN) (70 permanents),
• Le campus de la faculté des sciences (FST) (53 permanents),
• Le campus de l’IMT Atlantique (IMT-A) (38 permanents),
• Le campus de l’école polytechnique (Polytech) (30 permanents),
• Le campus de l’Institut Universitaire de Technologie (IUT) (14 permanents).

Poles   de   recherche

Un laboratoire de plus de 200 chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs, avec des équipes de taille raisonnable comprenant en moyenne moins de 10 membres permanents, contient plus d’une vingtaine d’équipes.
Un regroupement par grands champs scientifiques devient nécessaire pour :
• afficher de façon structurée l’activité et les compétences (ou « couleurs ») du laboratoire,
• faciliter les interactions et coopérations entre les équipes ayant des objets scientifiques voisins,
• coordonner les plates-formes (matérielles et logicielles) associées au thème,
• faciliter l’animation et la prospective scientifique,
• réunir des équipes pédagogiques en charge de parcours de master,
• organiser son évaluation.

Themes   transverses

Les enjeux du développement socio-économique tant français que de notre territoire, dans le cadre de réflexions menées par les collectivités ou différentes instances ont fait émerger un schéma prospectif du développement socio-économique des territoires régionaux. Ce schéma a permis de faire apparaı̂tre des domaines spécifiques ou des spécialisations thématiques associées à des savoir-faire existants ou potentiels tant scientifiques qu’industriels et/ou économiques. Cette « spécialisation intelligente » a pour but d’entretenir et de développer un terreau fertile à l’émergence de grands projets collectifs. En pays de la Loire, six grands thèmes ont été retenus, il s’agit de : Industries maritimes et énergies nouvelles, Technologies avancées de production, Alimentation et bio-ressources, Thérapies de demain et santé, Informatique et électronique professionnelle, Design et industries culturelles et créatives.

Les thèmes transverses du laboratoire sont issus des réflexions scientifiques des membres du laboratoire à partir de leurs travaux actuels, des échanges internationaux déjà engagés, des analyses d’études prospectives diverses et variées…, mais aussi des ressentis et/ou des envies des uns et des autres. Et au final, les cinq thèmes transversaux proposés par le laboratoire sont parfaitement en phase avec la stratégie régionale, nationale et européenne engagée pour les prochaines décennies. Ces thèmes transverses permettent de cultiver l’inter-disciplinarité, et de contribuer à certains enjeux sociétaux.

Au delà des projets d’excellence qui sont conduits, c’est notamment à l’intersection des pôles et des thèmes transverses que s’affichent les lignes de forces et l’originalité du laboratoire.