Home » Area of expertise


SLS - Software and Distributed Systems Science

Based on the tremendous growth in the number and complexity of computers (objects connected to data centers) and the migration from centralized systems to distributed systems, this topic focuses particularly on programming, software and systems engineering.


Coordinator : Jean-Marc MENAUD


Since the 2000s, the number and complexity of computers, from the simple object connected to the largest data centers, have increased dramatically. Over the same period, application and system services have naturally migrated from a mainly centralized to highly distributed world, making them increasingly complex to analyze, develop, fix and maintain. To address these new challenges, software science and distributed systems have gradually matched each other.

Drawing on the skills of the research teams concerned, the SLS cluster pays particular attention to programming, software and systems engineering, both in a buried and highly distributed context, by exploring the complementary aspects of languages, models and systems. The skills, scientific expertise and projects of the teams that make up the SLS cluster make it possible to define three differentiating orientations:

  • Programming languages and modeling languages for the specification, verification and development of complex software. Programming languages research focuses on the definition and implementation of new concepts in the form of domain-specific languages and language elements, with an emphasis on the energy management of software and systems (greenIT), from micro-sensors to cloud computing. Research on modeling languages focuses on the structural and functional cutting paradigms of complex systems by formalizing architectural elements, trades, patterns, styles and finally the engineering approach in which these coherent and autonomous elements can be managed.
  • Distributed systems and algorithms for the possible real-time management of IT capacities both at the application level (in the development of the social and semantic web for example) and at the system level (in the development of systems for the optimization of computing capacities, memory, disk, networks, etc.). The application domains are mainly the Internet of Things and Cloud Computing.
  • The systems and software addressed by the cluster are, among other things, distributed, (a)synchronous, real-time, autonomous, dynamic, ubiquitous and therefore require the development (automatic or not) of models for analysis purposes for, among other things, correction, security, and performance, including energy. Indeed, the function of a model is to facilitate the analysis of a system by simplifying and interpreting it. It is by relying on its already proven internal skills (in life modeling, discrete event systems, model-checking, proofs, time-controlled, parameterized and probabilistic models, model-driven engineering, dynamic reconfiguration of software architectures, flow modeling, software evolution modeling) that the cluster intends to meet these challenges.

Over the next few years, the ever-increasing omnipresence of IT in our daily lives, whether in terms of services (from the Web to social networks) or objects (connected or not), raises many challenges on both the software, model and system aspects. The cluster's triple competence is a strength in meeting these challenges. We can mention here some of the challenges that are addressed: How to structure software for its evolution and composition? What methods and tools for the analysis, verification and validation of complex systems? How to administer, manage, optimize, program and evolve highly distributed infrastructures in a secure and secure manner?




Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

SLS - Science du Logiciel et des Systèmes Distribués

Se basant sur la progression fulgurante du nombre et de la complexité des calculateurs (des objets connectés aux centres de données) et de la migration des systèmes centralisés vers des systèmes distribués, le pôle « Science du Logiciel et des Systèmes Distribués » porte une attention particulière au génie de la programmation, du logiciel et des systèmes.


Responsable : JM. Menaud


Depuis les années 2000, le nombre et la complexité des calculateurs, du simple objet connecté aux plus grands centres de données, ont connu une progression fulgurante. Sur cette même période, les services applicatif et système ont naturellement migré d’un monde principalement centralisé à hautement distribué, les rendant de plus en plus complexes à analyser, développer, corriger et maintenir. Pour adresser ces nouveaux défis, la science du logiciel et les systèmes distribués se sont progressivement appariées.

En s’appuyant sur les compétences des équipes de recherche concernés, le pôle SLS porte une attention particulière au génie de la programmation, du logiciel et des systèmes, aussi bien dans un contexte enfoui que hautement distribué, en explorant les facettes complémentaires des langages, des modèles et des systèmes. Les compétences, l’expertise scientifique et les projets des équipes constituant le pôle SLS permettent de définir trois orientations différenciantes :

  • Les langages de programmation et les langages de modélisation pour la spécification, la vérification et le développement de logiciels complexes. La recherche en langages de programmation cible la définition et l’implémentation de nouveaux concepts sous forme d’éléments de langages et de langages dédiés (domain-specific languages) en mettant l’accent sur la maitrise énergétique des logiciels et des systèmes (le « greenIT »), des micro-capteurs au Cloud Computing. La recherche sur les langages de modélisation s’intéresse aux paradigmes de découpage structurel et fonctionnel des systèmes complexes en formalisant les éléments architecturaux, métiers, patrons, styles et finalement la démarche d’ingénierie dans laquelle ces éléments cohérents et autonomes peuvent être gérés.
  • Les systèmes et algorithmes distribués pour la gestion, possiblement temps réel, des capacités informatiques tant au niveau applicatif (dans le développement par exemple du web social et sémantique) que système (dans le développement par exemple de systèmes d’optimisation des capacités de calcul, mémoire, disque, réseaux, etc.). Les domaines applicatifs sont principalement l’internet des objets et le Cloud Computing.
  • Les systèmes et logiciels adressés par le pôle sont, entre autres, distribués, (a)synchrones, temps réel, autonomes, dynamiques, ubiquitaires et nécessite de ce fait le développement (automatique ou non) de modèles dans un but d’analyse pour entre autres, la correction, la sécurité, et les performances y compris énergétiques. En effet, la fonction d’un modèle consiste à faciliter l’analyse d’un système par simplification et interprétation de ce dernier. C’est en s’appuyant sur ses compétences internes déjà éprouvées (en modélisation du vivant, systèmes à événements discrets, model-checking, preuves, modèles temporisés, paramétrés et probabilistes, ingénierie dirigée par les modèles, reconfiguration dynamique d’architectures logicielles, modélisation des flux, modélisation de l’évolution des logiciels) que le pôle compte relever ces défis.

Sur les prochaines années, l’omniprésence toujours plus grande de l’informatique dans notre quotidien, que ce soit en terme de services (du Web aux réseaux sociaux) ou d’objets(connectés ou non), soulève de nombreux défis tant sur les aspects logiciel, modèle, que système. La triple compétence du pôle est une force pour relever ces défis. Nous pouvons citer ici quelques défis qui seront traités : Comment structurer les logiciels pour leur évolution et composition ? Quels méthodes et outils pour l’analyse, la vérification et la validation des systèmes complexes ? Comment administrer, gérer, optimiser, programmer et faire évoluer des infrastructures hautement distribuées et ce de manière sûre et sécurisée ?