Home » LS2N presentation

The laboratory of Digital Sciences of Nantes

A single objective : bring together Nantes’ research expertise in computer science and cybernetics to develop digital sciences, inclusive of other disciplines and taking account of the social challenges involved.

Presentation

The lab of digital sciences of Nantes (“Laboratoire des Sciences du Numérique de Nantes : LS2N” in French) is a new Joint Research Unit (UMR 6004) created in January 2017, resulting from the grouping of the IRCCyN (UMR 6597 : Communication and Cyber Research Institute), and LINA (UMR 6241 : Computer Science Laboratory).

With a strong scientific talent at the heart of digital sciences, this large laboratory of 450 people participates fully in the digital revolution of our society on the scientific and technical subjects it implements. Research is performed consciously of the societal challenges that this revolution engenders, and remaining curious and openminded to other disciplines.

The complexity of the research objects that we are studying also forces us to adopt a global systemic approach in which computer concerns, automatic control, signal and image processing are interwoven in order to answer the questions asked by open, interactive, communicating and ubiquitous systems. The laboratory is an actor in innovation that values these objects with partners in its environment.

The LS2N is supported by 5 public institutions of Higher Education and Research. It is located in Nantes on 5 geographical sites. Its research activity is structured in 5 areas of expertise and 5 cross-cutting themes.

And a positioning on...
5 areas of expertise
CCS
RPC
SDD
SIEL
SLS
and 5 cross-cutting themes
in line with societal challenges
EDF
GEMIE
SDV
VEM
CCSN
Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

Le  laboratoire  des  Sciences  du  numerique  de  Nantes

Une ambition : rassembler les forces de recherche nantaises en Cybernétique et Informatique pour développer les sciences du numérique, ouvertes sur les autres disciplines et en conscience des défis sociétaux que cela implique.

Presentation

Le Laboratoire des Sciences du Numérique de Nantes (le LS2N) est une nouvelle Unité Mixte de Recherche (UMR6004) créée en janvier 2017, et résultant de la fusion des UMR IRCCyN (UMR6597 : Institut de Recherche en Communications et Cybernétique de Nantes), et LINA (UMR6241 : Laboratoire d’Informatique de Nantes Atlantique).

Fort des talents scientifiques réunis au cœur des sciences du numérique, dans ce grand laboratoire de 450 personnes, nous voulons prendre toute notre part au sein de la révolution numérique de notre société sur les sujets scientifiques et techniques qu’elle met en œuvre, mais aussi en conscience des défis sociétaux que cette révolution engendre, en restant curieux et ouvert sur les autres disciplines.

La complexité des objets de recherche que nous étudions nous force aussi à adopter une approche globale dite « systémique » dans laquelle les préoccupations informatiques, le contrôle/commande (automatique) et le traitement du signal et des images s’interpénètrent pour répondre aux questions posées par les systèmes ouverts, interactifs, communicants, ubiquitaires… Le laboratoire veut être un acteur de l’innovation valorisant ces objets avec les partenaires de son environnement.

Le LS2N a 5 co-tutelles et partenaires. Il est situé à Nantes sur 5 sites géographiques. Son activité de recherche est structurée en 5 pôles de compétence et 5 thèmes transverses.

Et un positionnement sur...

5 pôles de compétence
CCS
RPC
SDD
SIEL
SLS
et 5 thèmes transverses
en phase avec des défis sociétaux