Home » Area of expertise


SDD - Data Science and Decision-making

Faced with ever increasing data volumetrics and their increasing complexity, classification models and research algorithms are at the heart of the « Data Science and Decision-Making » topic.


Coordinator : Pascale KUNTZ-COSPEREC
Co-leader : Odile BELLENGUEZ
Teams : COMBI, DUKe, GDD, IS3P, MéForBio, SLP, TALN, TASC


The links between statistical data processing and optimization have a long history; the importance of interdisciplinarity was underlined since the creation of the French Operational Research Society at the end of the 1950s by its first president who was a recognized statistician(1). Under sometimes different names, these links are now experiencing a new impetus, stimulated on the one hand by the confrontation of data management and processing specialists with ever-increasing volumes that require efficient algorithms, and on the other hand by the growing need to refine optimization models by integrating increasingly rich knowledge and to guide research processes in areas of increasing complexity. Publications (2) and interdisciplinary workshops (3) establish future directions for collaboration between data mining, learning, and combinatorial optimization. The relationships between these disciplines and bioinformatics are intrinsically linked to the development of the latter(4) and are now being renewed with the considerable changes in the scales of analyzable data associated with "omics" technologies. based on the skills and projects of the teams making up the SDS cluster, the following four orientations can be defined in particular, which transcend the particularities of the data processed in the various teams.

  • Enrichment of models: at their construction, by learning specifications (e.g. constraints, objectives, preferences) from histories and taking into account hazard (uncertainty models, probabilities); in an evolutionary process, by integrating knowledge from the processing of activity data (e.g. traces, sensor data).
  • Learning of resolution strategies: static and dynamic analysis of a research space and its evolution to guide off-line or on-line research; learning of parameters and automatic generation of tactics with the long-term objective of "autonomous research".
  • Analysis of search and learning algorithms: improving the efficiency of classification and learning algorithms for metrics and structures; introduction of specifications in human in the loop search processes.
  • Addition of optimization and digging features: visualization of traces of optimization heuristics and data mining observations.

Beyond the improvement of the approaches of the respective communities, fundamental questions arise transversely on the consideration in the modelling of the systems studied of the different observation levels: what are the relationships between the different observation levels? And how to build models that are "coherent" at different scales?

Bibliography

(1) D. Bayard (2008). Entretiens avec G.-Th. Guilbaud, Mathématiques et Sciences Humaines, n° 183, pp. 35-53.
(2) D. Corne, C. Dhaenes, L. Jourdan (2012). Synergies between operations research and data mining – The emerging use of multi-objective approaches, European J. of Operational Research, vol. 221, n°3, pp. 469-479. M. Milano, P. Van Hentenryck (2014). Looking into the crystal-ball : a bright future for CP, Constraints, vol. 19, pp. 121-125.
(3) L. De Raedt, S. Nijssen, B. O'Sullivan, M. Sebag (2014). Constraints, Optimization and Data, Report from Dagstuhl Seminar 1441.
(4) L.J. Jensen, A. Bateman (2011). The rise and fall of supervised machine learning techniques, Bioinformatics, vol. 27, n°24, pp. 3331-3332. P. Barahona, L. Krippahl, O. Perriquet (2011). Bioinformatics : a challenge to constraint programming, Hybrid Optimization, Springer Optimization and its Applications, vol. 45, pp. 463-487.



Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

Home » Pole de recherche


SDD - Science des Données et de la Décision

Face à l'augmentation du volume et de la complexité des données sans cesse croissantes, et à leurs complexifications toujours plus importantes, les modèles de classification et les algorithmes de recherche sont au coeur des orientations du pôle « Science des Données et de la Décision ».


Responsable : Pascale KUNTZ-COSPEREC
Co-responsable : Xavier LORCA


Les liens entre le traitement statistique des données et l'optimisation ont une longue histoire ; l'importance de l'interdisciplinarité était soulignée dès la création de la Société Française de Recherche Opérationnelle à la fin des années cinquante par son premier président qui était un statisticien reconnu(1). Sous des dénominations parfois différentes, ces liens connaissent aujourd'hui un nouvel essor stimulé d'une part par la confrontation des spécialistes de gestion et de traitement des données à des volumétries qui ne cessent de se multiplier et qui requièrent des algorithmes efficaces, et d'autre part par la nécessité croissante d'affiner les modèles d'optimisation par l'intégration de connaissances de plus en plus riches et de guider les processus de recherche dans des espaces de complexité croissante. Des publications (2) et des workshops interdisciplinaires(3) dressent des directions futures des collaborations entre fouille de données, apprentissage, et optimisation combinatoire. Les relations entre ces disciplines et la bio-informatique sont intrinsèquement liées au développement de cette dernière(4) et se renouvellent aujourd'hui avec les modifications considérables des échelles des données analysables associées aux technologies « omiques ».En s'appuyant sur les compétences et les projets des équipes constituant le pôle SDD, on peut définir en particulier les quatre orientations suivantes qui transcendent les singularités des données traitées dans les différentes équipes.

  • Enrichissement des modèles : à leur construction, par l'apprentissage de spécifications (e.g. contraintes, objectifs, préférences) à partir d'historiques et la prise en compte de l'aléa (modèles d'incertitude, probabilités) ; dans un processus évolutif, par l'intégration de connaissances issues du traitement de données d'activités (e.g. traces, données de capteurs).
  • Apprentissage de stratégies de résolution : analyse statique et dynamique d'un espace de recherche et de son évolution pour guider off-line ou on-line la recherche ; apprentissage de paramètres et génération automatique de tactiques dans l'objectif à terme d'une « recherche autonome ».
  • Analyse des algorithmes de fouille et d'apprentissage : amélioration de l'efficacité des algorithmes de classification et d'apprentissage de métriques et de structures ; introduction de spécifications dans les processus de fouille centrés-utilisateur (« human in the loop »).
  • Ajout de fonctionnalités en optimisation et en fouille : visualisation des traces d'heuristiques en optimisation et d'observations en fouille de données.

Au-delà de l'amélioration des approches des communautés respectives, des questions fondamentales se posent de façon transversale sur la prise en compte dans la modélisation des systèmes étudiés des différents niveaux d'observation : quelles sont les relations entre les différents niveaux d'observation ? Et comment construire des modèles qui soient « cohérents » à différentes échelles ?

Bibliographie :

(1) D. Bayard (2008). Entretiens avec G.-Th. Guilbaud, Mathématiques et Sciences Humaines, n° 183, pp. 35-53.
(2) D. Corne, C. Dhaenes, L. Jourdan (2012). Synergies between operations research and data mining – The emerging use of multi-objective approaches, European J. of Operational Research, vol. 221, n°3, pp. 469-479. M. Milano, P. Van Hentenryck (2014). Looking into the crystal-ball : a bright future for CP, Constraints, vol. 19, pp. 121-125.
(3) L. De Raedt, S. Nijssen, B. O'Sullivan, M. Sebag (2014). Constraints, Optimization and Data, Report from Dagstuhl Seminar 1441.
(4) L.J. Jensen, A. Bateman (2011). The rise and fall of supervised machine learning techniques, Bioinformatics, vol. 27, n°24, pp. 3331-3332. P. Barahona, L. Krippahl, O. Perriquet (2011). Bioinformatics : a challenge to constraint programming, Hybrid Optimization, Springer Optimization and its Applications, vol. 45, pp. 463-487.


Les actus du pôle

Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Mentions Légales - 
 -