Home » Area of expertise


SIEL - Signals, Images, Ergonomics and Languages

This topic covers the disciplines relating to signals, images, sounds, languages, written text, physiological measures and human factors.


Coordinator : Harold MOUCHERE
Teams : DUKe, IPI, PACCE, SIMS, TALN


The SIEL pole groups together the laboratory's activities concerning signals, images, sounds, languages, writing, physiological measurements and human factors. Two strong convergences between the teams ensure the coherence of the cluster.

The first convergence is related to signal and data processing in specific application contexts, through the development of theories and methods in signal and image processing (in the broad sense), language and writing. The IPI, SIMS and TALN teams are users/designers of data analysis, decision, security or compression tools and implement processing methods dedicated to the specific data they process (close to the sensor for SIMS, image/video/write for IPI, language data for TALN). The challenges related to tools and methods include: developments in computational imaging, at the interface with observational sciences, from the infinitely large to the infinitely small, with applications close to the sensor, in non-destructive testing, in medical and biological imaging, in remote sensing; learning and recognition techniques for specific signals such as sound, writing, gesture or natural languages; methods for the compression, archiving and transmission of multimedia signals and perceptually optimized when these signals are intended for use by humans.

The IPI, SIMS and TALN teams therefore process data and signals produced by and/or for humans, whether visual, sound, internal to the body (muscles, brain) or related to language (writing and texts). Here we find one of the characteristics that illustrates the cluster's second convergence, relating to human factors. The term is used here in a broad sense, since it covers work carried out by the IPI SIMS, PACCE and part of DUKe teams in the fields of human-machine interactions, cognitive ergonomics and, more generally, the design and evaluation of digital interactive products and systems by putting the human being at the centre of the reflection. Three types of multidisciplinary activities and challenges are mainly considered. First of all, the design of interactive and cooperative systems, with a user-centred approach. The evaluation of systems is then an important activity of the cluster's teams, whether these systems are proprietary or designed by external partners: we will talk here about cognitive ergonomics, user experience, perceptual approach to the quality of experience, usage analysis. A final activity related to cognitive psychology, a skill specific to the PACCE team, theoretically and experimentally complements and reinforces the previous one by aiming at the analysis and modelling of the sensorimotor and cognitive processes underlying the activity. Several experimental capture and analysis platforms are also available in the cluster's teams, which also share similar or complementary experimental methodological approaches.

The cluster is thus intended to bring together skills in the disciplines covered by sections 7 (on its perimeters of processing, images, content, interactions, signals and languages) and 26 of the CNRS (Cerveau, cognition et comportement). There are lecturers and researchers from CNU 61, 27 but also 60 (on aspects concerning design engineering), 16 (Psychology) and 55 (Ophthalmology). Disciplinary cross-fertilization is therefore at the heart of the work of the cluster's teams.

The SIEL cluster is directly concerned by four of the laboratory's transversal themes:

  • Life Sciences for its work in the field of health in signal processing and biomedical imaging, analysis of medical documents, analysis of the impact of technology on diagnostic quality, personalized medicine, design of tools for operating rooms, cognitive remediation for vulnerable populations, visual attention on populations with visual impairments.
  • Digital creation, culture and society on its contribution to the digital humanities, to the analysis of the uses of digital technology, to the design of innovative interactions and couplings.
  • Vehicles and mobility with regard to driver modelling and monitoring, as well as cooperation between drivers and automated systems, including the autonomous vehicle.
  • The company of the future for issues related to operator assistance, cobotics, non-destructive testing, and the design of augmented and virtual reality systems adapted to the needs of the company, rendering systems and ergonomic simulations.

It is part of the regional policy of two RFIs:

  • Atlanstic2020, in particular in relation to one of its five fields of excellence "Content and interactions" (perception, uses, language and speech processing, multilingualism and multimodality, affective computing, virtual and augmented reality).
  • RFI Ouest Industries Créatives, in particular in two of its four research areas: "Human interaction with digital objects in the field of culture and creation" and "Changes in tools and know-how in the field of culture and creation in a digital environment".

    Among the privileged partners at the local level, we can mention the health actors (University Hospital, Clinics) for the imaging, gerontology, pain, ophthalmology axes; the Jules Verne IRT; the future interdisciplinary University Pole on digital cultures and associated creative industries; the IFSTTAR.




Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

Home » Pole de recherche


SIEL - Signaux, Images, Ergonomie et Langues

Le pôle « Signal, Images, Ergonomie, Langues » traite des disciplines qui concernent les signaux, images, sons, langues, écrits, mesures physiologiques et les facteurs humains.


Responsable : Jérome IDIER
Equipes : DUKe, IPI, PACCE, SIMS, TALN


Le pôle SIEL regroupe les activités du laboratoire qui concernent les signaux, images, sons, langues, écrits, mesures physiologiques, et les facteurs humains. Deux convergences fortes entre les équipes assurent la cohérence du pôle.

La première convergence est liée au traitement de signaux et de données dans des contextes applicatifs spécifiques, par le développement de théories et méthodes en traitement du signal et de l’image (au sens large), des langues et de l’écrit. Les équipes IPI, SIMS et TALN sont utilisateurs/concepteurs d’outils d’analyse de données, de décision, de sécurité ou de compression et mettent en œuvre des méthodes de traitement dédiées aux données particulières qu’elles traitent (proches du capteur pour SIMS, image/vidéo/écrit pour IPI, données langagières pour TALN). Les défis liés aux outils et méthodes concernent : des développements relevant de l’imagerie computationnelle, à l’interface avec les sciences de l’observation, de l’infiniment grand à l’infiniment petit, avec des applications proches du capteur, en contrôle non destructif, en imagerie médicale et biologique, en télédétection ; des techniques d’apprentissage et de reconnaissance pour les signaux spécifiques que sont les signaux sonores, l’écrit, le geste ou les langues naturelles ; des méthodes pour la compression, l’archivage et la transmission des signaux multimédias et perceptuellement optimisées quand ces signaux sont destinés à être utilisés par des humains.

Les équipes IPI, SIMS et TALN traitent donc des données et signaux notamment produits par et/ou pour l’homme, que ceux-ci soient visuels, sonores, internes au corps (muscles, cerveau), ou encore liés à la langue (écriture et textes). On retrouve ici une des caractéristiques qui illustre la seconde convergence du pôle, relative aux facteurs humains. Le terme est employé ici au sens large, puisqu’il recouvre des travaux menés par les équipes IPI SIMS, PACCE et une partie de DUKe dans les domaines des interactions homme-machine, de l’ergonomie cognitive et, de façon plus générale, de la conception et de l’évaluation de produits et de systèmes interactifs numériques en mettant l’humain au centre de la réflexion. Trois types d’activités et de défis pluridisciplinaires sont principalement considérés. Tout d’abord la conception de systèmes interactifs et coopératifs, avec une démarche centrée sur l’utilisateur. L’évaluation de systèmes est ensuite une activité importante des équipes du pôle, que ces systèmes soient propres ou conçus par des partenaires extérieurs : on parlera ici d’ergonomie cognitive, d’expérience utilisateur, d’approche perceptuelle pour la qualité d’expérience, d’analyse des usages. Une dernière activité liée à la psychologie cognitive, compétence spécifique à l’équipe PACCE, complète et renforce théoriquement et expérimentalement la précédente en visant à l’analyse et à la modélisation des processus sensorimoteurs et cognitifs sous-jacents à l’activité. Plusieurs plates-formes de captation et d’analyse expérimentales sont par ailleurs disponibles dans les équipes du pôle qui partagent aussi des approches méthodologiques expérimentales similaires ou complémentaires.

Le pôle a ainsi vocation à regrouper des compétences dans les disciplines relevant des sections 7 (sur ses périmètres traitements, images, contenus, interactions, signaux et langues) et 26 du CNRS (Cerveau, cognition et comportement). On retrouve des enseignants-chercheurs des CNU 61, 27 mais aussi 60 (sur des aspects qui concernent l’ingénierie de conception), 16 (Psychologie) et 55 (Ophtalmologie). Les croisements disciplinaires sont donc au cœur des travaux des équipes du pôle.

Le pôle SIEL est directement concerné par quatre des thèmes transverses du laboratoire :

  • Sciences du vivant pour ses travaux dans le domaine de la santé en traitement des signaux et des images biomédicaux, en analyse de documents médicaux, en analyse de l’impact de la technologie sur la qualité diagnostic, en médecine personnalisée, en conception d’outils pour les salles d’opération, en remédiation cognitive pour les populations fragilisées, en attention visuelle sur des populations atteintes de déficiences visuelles.
  • Création, Culture et Société numériques sur son apport aux humanités numériques, à l’analyse des usages du numérique, à la conception d’interactions et de couplages innovants.
  • Véhicules et mobilités en ce qui concerne la modélisation et le monitoring du conducteur, ainsi que la coopération entre conducteur et systèmes automatisés, y compris le véhicule autonome.
  • L’entreprise du futur pour les problématiques touchant à l’assistance à l’opérateur, la cobotique, le contrôle non destructif, et la conception des systèmes de réalité augmentée et virtuelle adaptés aux besoins de l’entreprise, les systèmes de rendus et de simulations ergonomiques.

Il s’inscrit au niveau régional dans la politique de deux RFI :

  • Atlanstic2020, notamment en lien avec l’un de ses cinq champs d’excellence « Les contenus et les interactions » (perception, usages, traitement de la langue et de la parole, multilinguisme et multi-modalité, affective computing, réalité virtuelle et augmentée).
  • le RFI Ouest Industries Créatives, notamment sur deux de ses quatre axes de recherche « Interaction de l’humain avec les objets numériques dans le domaine de la culture et de la création » et « Mutations des outils et des savoir-faire dans le domaine de la culture et de la création en régime numérique ».

Parmi les partenaires privilégiés au niveau local, on peut citer les acteurs de la santé (CHU, Cliniques) pour les axes imagerie, gérontologie, douleur, ophtalmologie ; l’IRT Jules Verne ; le futur Pôle Universitaire interdisciplinaire sur les cultures numériques et les industries créatives associées ; l’IFSTTAR.




Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Mentions Légales - 
 -