Home » Cross-cutting theme


Design, culture and digital society


CCSN
The fundamental characteristic is that at the heart of these crossovers is the human being considered in his cognitive, creative, social and other dimensions. We consider that such fields of application are conducive to the emergence of both new scientific concepts and tools, and new tools and uses that have an impact on society, illustrating the laboratory's desire to participate in the construction of our Digital Society.



Keywords : System design for the digital society design of new interactions and links with digital artefacts analysis of practices and interaction with digital artefacts


Coordinator : Yannick PRIE  

Context and background

The founding spirit of this transversal theme lies in the cross-fertilization already undertaken by the laboratory between digital technology in all its forms and different fields such as culture and creation, design, well-being and health, education, etc...

This theme is perfectly in line with the strategic directions resulting from regional, national and European reflections.

At the level of our research structure, we are innovating in the design of "living environments" in six strategic areas of application for the digital society : 1) Heritage (heritage mediation) and tourism 2) Images, Media and Digital Arts 3) Well-being, well-being (Health, Work, Aging...) 4) Digital education 5) Digital Humanities 6) Creative and creative city.

Principles and actions

These fields of application can benefit from the development of the most advanced scientific tools. In this respect, the range of scientific tools that can be convened and that are part of the activities and expertise of our teams is very wide. These include 3D modeling, shape recognition, information visualization, temporal and sequential data analysis, gesture analysis, corpus analysis, social network analysis, document and language processing, and human behaviour analysis.

The cross-fertilization of the disciplines developed within the different teams finds here a very favourable ground. But the fields of application necessarily invite much broader interdisciplinary cross-fertilization (SHS, Design, Art, Health...) which cannot be limited to the transformation of researchers from the laboratory into technicians/engineers at the service of the practitioners with whom they work. It is indeed a question of following strong principles: the development of an interdisciplinary approach to research (e. g. computer scientist + SHS) and the hybridization of practices in a co-production approach.
The three main areas of research identified in the theme concern :

  • the design of systems for the digital society: Museography and new methods of cultural and heritage mediation, Digital humanities, digital education, Digital libraries, New connected objects, Development of systems to support the person, the child, the worker...
  • the design of new interactions and couplings with digital artifacts: Digital art, interactive excavation and coupling with algorithms, human-robot interaction, computer-assisted human translation, reflective technologies, bio-feedback...
  • the analysis of practices and interactions with digital artifacts: Uses of digital works, systems and installations, Quality of experience of digital artifacts, Analysis of the evolution of human-machine coupling, Mutation of practices (musical, scientific, etc.) in a digital environment....

The assets

The theme is based on :

  • national and international nuggets of key scientific competencies in several disciplines. Some of them already interface with SHS disciplines (Trace analysis, Quality of experience, E-learning, Document analysis, Language processing, Large dimension additive design, Inspired organic robotics...).
  • strong partnerships with SHS laboratories: AMO, LPPL, CFV...
  • the dynamics of RFIs in relation to the theme with in particular the Atlanstic202020-RFI, or OIC axis of interaction, for which the laboratory is in the very first line of research actions.
  • the involvement in the future master's degree in digital cultures.
  • relationships with a rich ecosystem: NantesTech, Cluster OuestMedialab, PRI Design IN, Stéréolux, Compagnie La Machine, Cantine numérique....
  • the animation and management of two platforms dedicated to digital cultures of the future University Pole in Hall 6 in the heart of the Quartier de la Création (a Userlab and a Fablab).



Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Legal notices - 
 -

Home » Thème transverse


Création, culture et société numériques


CCSN
La caractéristique fondamentale est qu'au cœur de ces croisements se retrouve l'humain considéré dans ses dimensions cognitives, créatives, sociales, etc. Nous considérons que de tels terrains d'application sont propices à l'émergence à la fois de nouveaux concepts et outils scientifiques, et de nouveaux outils et usages ayant un impact sur la société, illustrant la volonté du laboratoire de participer à la construction de notre Société Numérique.


Contexte et genèse
L'esprit fondateur de ce thème transverse réside dans les fertilisations croisées déjà engagées par le laboratoire entre le numérique sous toutes ses formes et différents domaines tels que la culture et la création, le design, le bien-être et la santé, l'éducation, etc.
Ce thème s'inscrit parfaitement dans les directions stratégiques issues des réflexions régionales, nationales et européennes.
A l'échelle de notre structure de recherche, nous innovons dans la conception de « cadres de vie » dans six domaines d'application stratégiques pour la société numérique : 1) Patrimoine (médiation patrimoniale) et tourisme 2) Images, Médias et Arts numériques 3) Bien-être, mieux-vivre (Santé, Travail, Vieillissement...) 4) Education numérique 5) Humanités Numériques 6) Ville inventive et créative.
<\br>
Des principes et des actions
Ces domaines d'application peuvent profiter des développements d'outils scientifiques les plus avancés. Sur ce plan, la palette des outils scientifiques convocables et faisant partie des activités et expertise de nos équipes est très large. On peut citer en particulier la modélisation 3D, la reconnaissance de forme, la visualisation d'information, l'analyse de données temporelles et séquentielles, l'analyse du geste, l'analyse de corpus, l'analyse de réseaux sociaux, le traitement de documents et du langage, l'analyse du comportement humain.
Le croisement des disciplines développées au sein des différentes équipes trouve ici un terrain très favorable. Mais les domaines d'application invitent forcément à des croisements interdisciplinaires beaucoup plus larges (SHS, Design, Art, Santé...) qui ne sauraient être limités à la transformation des chercheurs du laboratoire en techniciens/ingénieurs au service des praticiens avec lesquels ils travaillent. Il s'agit bien de suivre des principes forts : le développement d'une interdisciplinarité de recherche (informaticien + SHS par exemple) et l'hybridation des pratiques dans une logique de co-production.
Les trois principaux axes de recherche identifiés dans le thème concernent :
  • la conception de systèmes pour la société numérique : Muséographie et nouvelles méthodes de médiation culturelle et patrimoniale, Humanités numériques, éducation numérique, Bibliothèques numériques, Nouveaux objets connectés, Développement de systèmes d'aide à la personne, à l'enfant, au travailleur...
  • la conception de nouvelles interactions et couplages avec les artefacts numériques : Art numérique, fouille interactive et couplage avec les algorithmes, Interaction homme-robot, traduction humaine assistée par ordinateur, Technologies réflexives, bio-feedback...
  • l'analyse des pratiques et des interactions avec les artefacts numériques : Usages des œuvres, des systèmes et des installations numériques, Qualité d'expérience des artefacts numériques, Analyse de l'évolution du couplage homme-machine, Mutation des pratiques (musicales, scientifiques, etc.) en régime numérique...
Les atouts
Le thème s'appuie sur :
  • des pépites nationales et internationales concernant des compétences scientifiques clés dans plusieurs disciplines. Certaines sont déjà en interface avec des disciplines SHS (Analyse de traces, Qualité d'expérience, E-learning, Analyse de Document, Traitement des langues, Conception Additive grande dimension, Robotique bio inspirée...).
  • des partenariats forts avec des laboratoires de SHS : l'AMO, LPPL...
  • la dynamique des RFI en lien avec le thème avec en particulier l'axe d'interaction Atlanstic2020-RFI OIC pour lesquels le laboratoire est en toute première ligne des actions recherche.
  • l'implication dans le futur master sur les cultures numériques.
  • les relations avec un écosystème riche : NantesTech, Cluster OuestMedialab, PRI Design IN, Stéréolux, Compagnie La Machine, Cantine numérique...
  • l'animation et le pilotage de deux plateformes dédiées aux cultures numériques du futur Pôle Universitaire de la Halle 6 en plein cœur du Quartier de la Création (un Userlab et un Fablab).



Copyright : LS2N 2017 - Mentions Légales - 
 -